thitchcock Uncategorized

Amateurs Claim Snap Streak and Claim First Cup Since 2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (August 4, 2019) – The Sun Country PGA came into Paradise Hills Golf Course in Albuquerque, N.M., riding a four-year win streak in the Sun Country region’s version of the Ryder Cup. The annual event features the area’s regional amateur golf association, the Sun Country Amateur Golf Association face off against the area’s PGA section, the Sun Country PGA in morning team matches and afternoon singles matches.

Also, holding an overall record of 34-17-1 as the day started, the Sun Country PGA was no stranger to holding aloft the Challenge Cup at the end of the event. That wouldn’t be the case this year however, and the SCAGA made it apparent early on.

The morning team matches featured two-man teams playing four-ball on the first nine hole and alternate shot on the second nine. Matches featured a total of three points available, one for the first nine, one for the second and one for the overall. The SCAGA raced out to an impressive and almost insurmountable lead early on as they won 18 of the available 24 points from the morning team matches.

Having to press in the afternoon matches, the Sun Country PGA hung around as the early singles matches started to roll in. But, they never seemed able to get over the hump. The professionals got within nine points at one point, but by the time the final putt dropped the SCAGA registered a resounding 45.5 to 26.5 win following a 27.5 to 20.5 differential in the singles matches.

The Professionals now hold an overall edge with a 34-18-1 record.

2019 Sun Country Amateur Golf Assn. Team:
Roy Choi, Albuquerque, N.M.
Sam Choi, Albuquerque, N.M.
Davis Chung, Las Cruces, N.M.
Greg Condon, Monte Vista, Colo. ***
Jennifer Delgadillo, El Paso, Texas
Josh Fambro, Taos, N.M.
Crispin Fuentes, Las Cruces, N.M. ***
Ryo Harada, Las Cruces, N.M.
Noah Hicks, El Paso, Texas
Brian Kern, El Paso, Texas ***
Simon Miller, Albuquerque, N.M.
Anton Salome, Socorro, N.M.***
Slater Sivage, Albuquerque, N.M.
Aidan Thomas, Bernalillo, N.M.
Ben Tolsma, Albuquerque, N.M.
Richard Yai, El Paso, Texas
*** – Senior Team Member

2019 Sun Country PGA Professional Team:
Ron Allen, Albuquerque, N.M. (Los Altos GC) ***
Kevin Amhaus, Albuquerque, N.M. (GolfTEC)
Justin Aragon, Las Vegas, N.M. (Gene Torres GC)
Faylyn Beyale, Silver City, N.M. (Univ. Course at Scott Park)
Dustin Blair, El Paso, Texas (Horizon Golf & CC)
Carlton Blewett, Roswell, N.M. (Nancy Lopez GC at Spring River) ***
Javier Delgadillo, El Paso, Texas (Horizon Golf & CC)
Gerome Espinoza, Albuquerque, N.M. (Paradise Hills GC)
Bill Harvey, Albuquerque, N.M. (Ladera GC) ***
Kevin Keller, Las Cruces, N.M. (NMSU GC)
Brad Lardon, Santa Fe, N.M. (The Club at Las Campanas)
Steve Manning, Albuquerque, N.M. (Santa Ana GC)
Devin Miertschin, El Paso, Texas (Lone Star GC)
Pat Murphy, Albuquerque, N.M. (Santa Ana GC)
David Muttitt, Albuquerque, N.M. (Los Altos GC)
Don Yrene, Albuquerque, N.M. (The Canyon Club)
*** – Senior Team Member